As of October 2012, Florida joined 44 other states in which dental hygienists can administer local anesthesia with Washington leading the way in 1971. Nicole attended the course at the University of Florida College of Dentistry in December 2012 and was licensed in February 2013.
A Florida licensed dental hygienist, under the direct supervision of a dentist may administer local anesthesia to a non-sedated patient who is 18 years of age or older. Dental hygienists must complete a course in the administration of local anesthesia which is offered by a dental or dental hygiene program accredited by the Commission on Dental Accreditation of the American Dental Association. The course must include a minimum of 30 hours of didactic instruction and 30 hours of clinical experience and instruction in subject areas as specified in s. 466.017(5)(a), Florida Statutes.
To learn more about our services at Palencia Dental, contact us at (904) 474-5444 today.